experience leading to calling / The Old Path / transformation / true religion / turn a new leaf

From Bro. Eli’s preaching, I knew I was singing praises to the wrong god of the Catholic faith

Our homosexual priest was our close pal. He would text us to gather our male friends to drink and then have sex with him and his peers after officiating mass. That’s how hypocrite these Catholic preachers were.


By Adjes Carreon

I grew up without a father figure to look up to – just a caring mother and four older brothers who were with me supporting me all the way. I was just three years old when my father died. Maternal guidance contributed much on me having effeminate personality. She was not against me when I decided to cross-dress, put cosmetics on my face and even take estrogen pills to enhance my effeminacy. I even joined gay beauty pageants in many barangays with my boyfriend tagging along.

The situation I was in contributed much to the usual adolescent problems I faced. I was into drinking liquors – all kinds I would say – tried sniffing marijuana and smoke off the so-called “shabu.” My extreme sexual desire for same sex led me to even steal money from my mother. The worst scenario was that I performed some of the sexual acts before our neighbors’ sight. I was really addicted to same-sex act. That’s how my past life was before I got affiliated with the Ang Dating Daan (Official name: Members Church of God International or MCGI).

The first time I saw Bro. Eliseo Soriano was when I accidentally tuned in to RJTV 29. I was with GMA 7’s ALTA Productions as Advertising and Promotions Officer when I saw Bro. Eli hosting Ang Dating Daan on TV. The set-up was similar to our gag show, “Bubble Gang” segment called “Ang Dating Doon.” When I saw the style of Bro. Eli’s preaching, my interest in reading the Bible started. I used to bond with Catholic priests that time because I was a choir member. Our homosexual priest was our close pal. He would text us to gather our male friends to drink and then have sex with him and his peers after officiating mass. That’s how hypocrite these Catholic preachers were.

Noting the frankness of Bro. Eli on TV, I easily get attached to him. I said to myself, “This preacher is the one! The one I’m looking for! He is real! Authentic!” I was surprised to know that there is still a preacher of his kind who truly cares for everyone’s salvation.

That started my sticking to his show. I started not doing what he said not to do, based on the Bible. I also started doing what the Bible says we should do as Christians. But the sexual thing continued on for I was not ready to give that up at that time. In church, I was singing with our choir but deep inside there’s still an emptiness because I knew that at that time I was doing wrong things, including singing praises to the wrong god of the Catholic faith.

While I was still not decided yet of joining the ADD, problems bombarded my life. My mother passed away, I became jobless and therefore had no money to spend, I was so alone and very much lonely. My self-esteem lowered extremely. I even asked God why it was happening to me; didn’t he love me? I became a drunkard and came to a point that I didn’t care whatever evil thing would happen to me. I sometimes wanted to be hit by a car whenever I was on the road. That’s how depressed I was.

But one day, I was offered to work in a Public Relations company. I immediately grabbed the opportunity because I needed financial support to start things over again. I was tasked to look for accounts and sponsors to support our exhibit project. With God’s mercy, I got big accounts. On the last slots remaining in the exhibit area, I got to talk to a very pleasing, jolly and soft-spoken client. He bargained for the slot for his products to be exhibited. I easily got along with this guy. We were still communicating even after the exhibit. And then I learned that he is a member of the Ang Dating Daan or The Old Path as known in foreign shores.

I was so glad when I learned about his religion. First thing I asked him was if gays are allowed in the church. My heart jumped with joy when he said “YES.” He also added that there’s a group called “Happy Christians” that composed of gays submitting to Christ’s rules. When I learned that information, I decided to undergo indoctrination and be baptized in the Members Church of God International.

I hope my testimony will serve as an inspiration to those with the same experience.

To God be the glory!

23 thoughts on “From Bro. Eli’s preaching, I knew I was singing praises to the wrong god of the Catholic faith

Leave a Reply

