faithful leaders / The Old Path / true messenger / walking scriptures

It was only then that I felt the holy fear of God when I got affiliated with the Church of God

The segment was called “Ang Dating Doon.” I was amused with that portion and I got curious as to who the man Brod Pete was imitating. My curiosity ended when somebody told me that it was Brother Eli whom Brod Pete was impersonating.

By Marvin Uriza (Shanghai, China)

I used to be a catholic. Feeling dissatisfied, I changed religions and shifted to Born Again. I used to be very diligent in attending our gatherings; I always made it a point to never miss a gathering. I religiously gave love offering but refused to give tithes because I once heard that it was written in I Corinthians 9:7 that everyone should give according to the dictates of their hearts.

I enjoy watching television. Once, I chanced upon a segment in the gag show Bubble Gang. The segment was called “Ang Dating Doon.” I was amused with that portion and I got curious as to who the man Brod Pete was imitating. My curiosity ended when somebody told me that it was Brother Eli whom Brod Pete was impersonating. I looked for Bro. Eli’s TV program and when I finally found Ang Dating Daan on a UHF channel, I became an instant fan from that moment I first heard him preach. I constantly followed his program and admired the way he preached God’s teachings based on the Bible. He is the authority in teaching God’s words.

As a regular viewer, I was enlightened by the words of God and the desire to attend the mass indoctrination rose in my heart. This later led to the day of my baptism in the Members Church of God International (MCGI) or Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path) as it is locally known.

Since then, I have found the fulfillment and satisfaction that I have never found in the former religions I’ve been part of.

I was surprised. It was only then that I felt the holy fear of God. I can say that I fear God not just by mouth, but by heart. I have never felt it when I was a catholic or even as a Born Again follower. I was afraid to do the evil deeds that I have been doing before; all my vices have disappeared. I have learned to try to understand every person and become humble. I learned to speak with wisdom and to keep silent if I have nothing important or wise to say. I also felt genuine mercy towards my fellowmen.

All my questions about matters of faith have been answered through God’s words as preached by Bro. Eliseo Soriano.

I am very lucky that I have Bro. Eli Soriano and Bro. Daniel Razon for leaders. I believe that they are the wisest persons living on earth right now. They are the epitome of true Christian leaders in our times – teaching and leading by example. They don’t just talk and do nothing like other pastors nowadays.

Incredible! I have never seen the kind of strength that they have to be able to continue serving God’s flock and even the non-believers. They are able to continue preaching even when their physical bodies are tired. They are diligent in doing good – unselfishly and untiringly. I believe that this is because God is always with them.

Praise be to God!

2 thoughts on “It was only then that I felt the holy fear of God when I got affiliated with the Church of God

  1. True, Bro. Eli and Bro. Daniel never tire of doing good. They are working hard to make known God’s words to people all around the world.

    You are lucky for you have the fear of the Lord in your heart. It is where knowledge begins.

    God bless brother!

Leave a Reply

