Bible exposition / Overseas mission / salvation / true religion / walking scriptures

I newly bought a box of cigarettes then but I crushed it and threw it straight into the trash can

I felt the presence of peacefulness, sincerity and truth in things wherein everything is based on the bible. That is the style of preaching in the Church of God.

By Kathleen Mae Malinao

It was the 10th of January 2005 when I had a chance to attend one of the Church services of the Church of God – the Prayer Meeting at the locale of Ortigas in Metro-Manila. After a long period of trying, I finally was able to be a part of the service which was introduced to me by my cousin who is also my sister-in-faith now.

I felt the presence of peacefulness, sincerity and truth in things wherein everything is based on the bible. That is the style of preaching in the Church of God. Not long after, I was really intrigued and curious enough until I planned to attend the next mass indoctrination held in a locale of Cubao, Metro-Manila.

At first I was ashamed, and then full of regrets, remorseful as the days seemed to darken while listening to the doctrines. Unknowingly, from listening night after night, what sank into my heart and soul were the words of God in the bible. I will never forget I-Corinthians 3:16 that held me to put all vices out of my system.

16 Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?

I newly bought a box of cigarettes then but I crushed it and threw it straight into the trash can. I couldn’t believe I’ve done it. In the middle of the indoctrination sessions I did this. I was a smoker then.

How I thanked God for guiding me, sustaining me, as the last of the doctrines were being discussed and as I got cleansed. I was left alone listening to the taped discussions as the others dropped off. As I was alone going to the locale, I began to wonder if I was doing the right thing. But I knew accepting and doing Christ teachings is a fulfilling cause. The time came when I got baptized.

In the Christian journey, I was taught to be self-disciplined in attending Church services, to be going to the church locale and to mingle with other brethren. I was able to understand the value of life, appreciating it by everyday listening to the gospel of our Lord through Bro. Eli and Bro. Daniel.

I feel now that I am in the right path though I cannot fully explain. Many circumstances prove that God is with us in this Church; many indescribable events have happened to show that God is helping us.

Through the trials and the pains that Bro. Eli and Bro. Daniel undergo, we can make a difference. The truth is in the bible and it is written in our heart as we believe.

To God be the Glory!

2 thoughts on “I newly bought a box of cigarettes then but I crushed it and threw it straight into the trash can

Leave a Reply

