Bible exposition / biggest decision / false preachers / Search for truth / true religion / walking scriptures

After all, he is worth listening to, even if you hate him

It is hard to explain, but the more I listened to this man’s preaching, the more I got enlightened. Then I realized that I did not even know what my real religion was.

By Maria Etheleen P. Barcellano

As I looked back fifteen years ago, the first time I heard Bro. Eliseo Soriano was on IBC Channel 13. I was a TV addict then, therefore watching anything as long as the television is turned on was my joy!

I didn’t know why I was hooked in watching Ang Dating Daan, the religious TV program hosted by Bro. Eli, while I hated the preacher. When my mother got the chance to hear him on TV, she didn’t say any negative word about him. Rather she told me, “Get the good out of what he’s saying and throw away the bad.” I agreed with my mom so I kept on listening to Bro. Eli. After all, he is worth listening to, even if you hate him.

At one point, the topic to be discussed was “The official name of the true Church established by Jesus Christ.” I hurriedly stood up to secure a pen and paper and wrote down as much as I could absorb from the preaching.

It is hard to explain, but the more I listened to this man’s preaching, the more I got enlightened. Then I realized that I did not even know what my real religion was. What was it indeed?

In fact, I didn’t even know why the religious organization I got affiliated with was called “Christian JHAISON” and I was called a “JHAISONITE.”

After three months of listening to Bro. Eli’s Bible expositions on TV, I just found myself addicted to it. There was “spiritual elixir” that I could not explain. I even woke up every 5:00 in the morning (which I didn’t usually do) only to listen to his teachings. It gave me so much joy. Thus, I came to know the truth.

On February of 1995, IBC Channel 13 was suddenly off-the-air and no Ang Dating Daan TV programs were being aired at all. Later on, we found out that employees of IBC were on strike, demanding higher pay and other workers’ rights. Since my favorite program was gone, it made a strong impact on my spiritual life.

I was no longer attending the regular worship services of our Christian JHAISON church and this called the family’s attention. There was even a point when my father almost hit me because he was tired of hearing my excuses. I hated going with them for Sunday worship service. Shifting to a different religion was a big deal for the family.

I was known to be a rebel in the family. I pursued the burning desire to become a member of the Church of God. I even influenced my mother to seek for ways how one can be a part of that organization that Bro. Eli preached.

No one had invited us to their church. We’ve known no one from that Church. It was because of the teachings we heard from Bro. Eli that made my mother (Sis Juliet now) and me to decide to get affiliated.

We had attended the live Bible expositions held in Locale of Sucat, Paranaque in Metro-Manila. We also attended Thanksgiving services and all the other Church gatherings that we could attend in that church. From the truth that we heard, we had ourselves baptized on September 15, 1995.

Thanks be to God!

14 thoughts on “After all, he is worth listening to, even if you hate him

  1. I’ve got to say we had the same really the same experience. I got so hooked up to with Bro. Eli’s The Old Path programme. Your article suddenly brought me to memories when I started to watch The Old Path seriously. I was 13 too.

  2. Nice article! I also had similar feelings of abhorrence to Bro Eli’s preaching during my days outside the Church of God International.

    I felt irritated by his preaching and found my self imagining that I was engaged in a discussion or debate with him and refuting his preaching. Days later, as I continued listening to him in the program “Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path)”, after having a deep self-assessment, I realized that the feeling of hate was not because I found fallacy in his preaching but because I was trying to resist the truth from God through him.

    I was afraid of the light and was evading it so that my evil deeds will not be reproved (John 3:20).

    Then, I finally decided to take the series of indoctrination sessions for me to be affiliated in the Church and with God’s mercy and help, I was baptized on November 5, 2004.

    Thanks be to God!

  3. Thanks be to God that we are called to the true church. We are called through many different ways.

    I was once a listener of Bro. Eli’s TV program when I was in high school. Although I heard a lot of wonderful things that Bro Eli had explained over his program in which he answered all questions from the Bible, still I was not able to get affiliated for some reason.

    It was only when I went for a vacation in Malaysia where something terrible thing happened. The immigration of JB Malaysia did not permit me to re enter Malaysia (where my brother lives with his wife – my brother is the first in the family who got affiliated with the Members Church of God International).

    I didn’t know anyone in Singapore, but I just found myself sleeping in the Church locale of Singapore formerly located in River Valley. There I met Sis M and her family who invited me to stay in their place.

    Now I realized that it was God’s will and way of calling me. I was baptized in Singapore July 10, 2008. Thanks be to God for His unspeakable gift that He gave to us.

  4. Hi!

    I think you really found the real truth regarding your search for your faith. The fact that you disobeyed your father before and now that you still belong in that religion shows that you really learned a lot and still embraces it.

    Though, we have different beliefs, I always pray and hope that we can see each other in the hands of the Lord through our good deeds. God bless us all.

    • The fact that you disobeyed your father…

      Miriam, when you are in search for truth, it is only God and His word that matters.

      Nobody comes in between.

    • I am unyielding when I know I am right especially when it concerns my soul’s salvation, more so when I have basis from the Bible. I am not going to justify the disobedience part, however I think it was necessary during that time I was searching for the Truth.

      There was no change in our lives although we got out of the Roman Catholic church. No change means we still keep our vices and do stuffs like what the pagans do. But deep within me I feel that there’s such an enormous vacuum spiritually speaking.

      Day by day my life was being renewed as I attended the Indoctrination session because for the very first time I have heard such complete teaching that nourishes the soul… and you know what one teaching was so real to me that time? It is what Jesus Christ have said—

      Mat 10:34 Think not that I came to send peace on the earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.
      Mat 10:35 For I came to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law:
      Mat 10:36 and a man’s foes shall be they of his own household.
      Mat 10:37 He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.
      Mat 10:38 And he that doth not take his cross and follow after me, is not worthy of me. -ASV

      That should explain why we had tension at home when I was shifting to the true religion. Then I realized that God wanted me to obey HIM first before my parents because HE will teach me how to obey parents righfully, believer or not. So along the Indoctrination session this is one of the teachings—

      Eph 6:1 Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.
      Eph 6:2 Honor thy father and mother (which is the first commandment with promise),
      Eph 6:3 that it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth. -ASV

      So to cut the long story short… Disobedience (not the rebellious way) was necessary then in order to obey GOD and GOD taught me the rightful way of obeying parents in the Lord and how to deal well with non-believing parents.

      At this point, although my father is still not a member of the Church, we get along well with each other, in fact we watch The Old Path together. Most especially I have learned to forgive him of his infidelities. If not for the teachings of the Lord through Bro. Eli with God’s help and mercy I don’t think I could have done so.

  5. A person who truly searches for the truth has nothing to be afraid of. Even John the Revelator teaches Christians to try the spirits whether they are of God. In John 4:1, it says, “Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.”

    If we are to follow this commandment and the logic in it, that we must try the spirits, then we are compelled to test the preachers of religious groups one by one until we find the true preacher of God. Many false prophets are gone out into the world, John said, but that doesn’t give us the excuse not to try, because the Scripture says “many”, not “all”. That is why we have to try.

    It is easy for any religion to say that they preach the truth. No preacher would say that he is a false preacher. But God is merciful. If you ask guidance from Him, you will find the truth that you are seeking. For the Lord Jesus Christ said, “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:” (Matthew 7:7).

    Do not be afraid, Brother Bruce. If you truly love your girlfriend, you must know if the group she is attending really cares for her soul. If you find out that it is deceiving her, then point out to her the errors so that she may leave, and that you may start looking for the true Church. Only, hear the doctrines first “completely” before you decide.

  6. I have a girlfriend who is Filipino and she a member of this Members of the Church of God International. I have asked her to explain the difference between her faith of the Lord and mine. She could not explain it to me.

    I am a believer of the Lord and his Jesus, but I am of a non-domination of faith. And she told me that I should to come with her to see what they do. I don’t know what to expect from this.

    My mind is running of the Cult thing. But I am trying to keep an open mind about this. She even told that me she is afraid that I might leave her when I see what they do to them to get their bodies and minds ready to received the words of the Teaching.

    Can you help me with this and put my mind to rest. Thank You.

    • @bruce > if rest is what you seek, then I guess this biblical verse fits:

      JEREMIAH 6:16 (NKJV)
      Thus says the LORD: “ Stand in the ways and see, And ask for the old paths, where the good way is, And walk in it; Then you will find rest for your souls…

      If you ask and seek for the Lord, you’ll have to find THE OLD PATH and walk in it, and you’ll find the peace of mind and rest for your soul.

      MATTHEW 11:29-30 (NKJV)
      Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

      Believing in the Lord and to Jesus Christ should always be based on the scriptures. Any of these numerous Christian denominations that you may see can be a cult (false religion) if its teachings are not in accordance with what the Bible says.

      And when it comes to the Bible, I know someone who can answer readily any question you may want to know based purely on the Bible. His name is Brother Eli Soriano.

      Bro. Eli Soriano’s Official Blog

      Truthcaster Channel

      May God bless you.

  7. Yes, it’s always because of the teaching of Bro. Eli from the Bible that people get to decide to be affiliated with the Church. Other churches will entice you with their so called miracles and dramas and beautiful preachings of their pastors that aren’t teachings of Christ, but the teacihngs of Bro. Eli… it will hurt you at first because you know that what he’s saying is right and you are doing something wrong with your life… then after the hurt you will soon realize that he is also showing you the path how to straighten up your life.

  8. We have different experiences in knowing the true religion in this world. We are blessed that we have Bro Eli Soriano and Bro Daniel Razon in this life. I believe that Bro Eli and Bro Daniel are true preachers that were sent by God in this world for us to teach the truth that was written in the Bible.

Leave a Reply

