Bible exposition / salvation / The Old Path / true religion

Have I therefore become your enemy because I tell you the truth?

If God hadn’t led me to listen to Bro. Eli, I would have wasted my life and ended up in perdition. I know God changed my life from wicked ways even though I am not worthy of it.

By Ronjie Abot

I am 24 yrs old and I was born in area D, Gen. Mariano Alvarez, Cavite to Mr. and Mrs. Francisco Araneta Abot on December 28, 1984. I was a young country boy who grew up experiencing a hard life. I have started working when I was 10 years old by doing some kind of labor work. At age 11, I worked with my mother in Marawi City as a delivery boy who delivered snacks.

During my teenage years, I had barkadas (gangsters) who did such things that are not right, such as riots, petty gang wars and other mischief in our place. It was because of this barkada, too, that I joined in a feeding ministry handled by a certain born again group when I turned 13. Perhaps fate decided that this interest should lead me to read the Holy Scriptures, to become aware of some verses and to watch a religious program on television. Still, there was something that was missing in my life.

One afternoon, I saw on TV a religious program titled “ANG DATING DAAN”, hosted by the most sensible preacher I have ever heard. This caught my meticulous attention. Since that day, I had always watched this most informative religious program. After one year and eleven months of seeking for the truth, I left the Born-Again feeding ministry after learning from Preacher Soriano that the doctrines of the Born-Again movement were not biblical.

Even though I was busy in my school days, my life started to change with the help and mercy of God. By His grace and power, through Bro. Eli Soriano, I turned back from my wicked barkadas. Now, I thank God for his unspeakable gifts and for all His blessings and kindness. If God hadn’t led me to listen to Bro. Eli, I would have wasted my life and ended up in perdition. I know God changed my life from wicked ways even though I am not worthy of it. It was through His mercy that He sent His messengers Bro. Eli Soriano and Bro. Daniel Razon so that I may know and follow His commandments. They are the instruments of God in renewing my life and I thank Him for this.

There are people, especially the ministers of Iglesia Ni Cristo of Mr. Eraño Manalo, who say that Bro. Eli is a wicked person. Of course I do not believe them, because I know that all of the things they say against Bro. Eli are mere accusations to malign his person. Bro. Eli speaks the truth from the Bible, and that is why the enemies of truth rise against him, just as the apostle Paul experienced in Gal.4:16- “Have I therefore become your enemy because I tell you the truth?” I know Bro. Eli’s way of life. He is a God-fearing preacher; his hardships show his faithful desire to serve God for the salvation of his countrymen and of all who will believe in what he is preaching.

So, even if they speak things against our Bro. Eli, all I can say is that he is the instrument of God in renewing my mind. I would say this, just as the blind said this to the accusers of Jesus our Lord: “Whether he is a sinner or not, I do not know. One thing I know: that though I was blind, now I see.” John 9:25.

I am very thankful to the Lord for making Bro. Eli and Bro. Daniel as instruments so that my mind be renewed and opened and I may turn away from doing the wrong things that I used to before. I am thankful to the Lord for His grace and I believe that through His help and mercy, I may finish my race. So help me God. To God be the glory!

Greetings from Iligan City!

2 thoughts on “Have I therefore become your enemy because I tell you the truth?

  1. At first, I did not understand why Bro. Eli needs to criticize other religions, but then I realized he just wants us to get out of deceit and falsity from erroneous doctrines.

Leave a Reply

