Bible exposition / Search for truth / The Old Path / Understanding / unequalled knowledge

In my Wildest Dreams I never thought that a Religious Program Could Challenge Darwin

From a reckless youth, immersed in a worldly life, through that single moment, that fateful night, I was changed – by the words of a stranger then.

By Francisco Trance Jr.

It was ten years ago when I first heard Bro. Eli. I was fourteen then. During those years, I was a lad immersed in a worldly environment – an environment filled with vices and unhealthy habits. Though my conduct during those years was somewhat undesirable, I kept a keen interest in my studies and was a vigorous and I should say “forceful” person in my class. However, through my religious interests, God changed me forever.

One day, I was watching TV from morning till night. After flipping channels randomly for some time I came across a show which I never saw before. It was “Bro. Eli’s program” at first I thought it was just another “boring-religious-show.” I was about to change channel when he began discussing or should I say refuting Darwin’s theory of evolution.

Instantly, it got my attention. In my wildest dreams I never thought that a religious program could tackle scientific matters, much more confront a well respected person in the scientific world.

After those few hours of discussions on that program which I later found out to be called “Ang Dating Daan,” I felt I knew something which nobody knew, and have discovered something which was entirely new. From then on, I was an avid “fan” of Bro. Eli every Tuesday and Friday. I would watch him every time he was on.

One time, a notice was aired that the program will conduct a “Bible Exposition” in my city of Calamba, “Rizal’s birthplace.” Quickly, I urged my father to accompany me to that occasion and to ask questions to the event’s host personally.

It was my first Bible Exposition and my first time to ever ask a question to a person who is frequently seen on TV. Anxiety filled my body as I waited for my chance to be called. All sorts of questions I wanted to ask raced through my mind and kept me occupied enough that they needed to call my name twice for me to hear that I was next.

I stood up nervous; seeing him this near was incredible for me. At last after I composed myself, I asked my question, “Where was Christ during His youth up to the time He first preached the Gospel?’

Immediately after I asked my question he gave an answer: “He was just there.” Bro. Eli gave me many verses in the Bible confirming that Jesus never left Israel. “He was a carpenter,” he added. Applause, applause, applause. A convinced and happy lad sat down.

After the event, I was invited to attend indoctrination. I happily agreed along with my father. And that was the beginning of my affiliation with the Church of God.

From a reckless youth, immersed in a worldly life, through that single moment, that fateful night, I was changed.

By the words of a stranger then.

But a dear brother now.

One thought on “In my Wildest Dreams I never thought that a Religious Program Could Challenge Darwin

  1. “Where was Christ during His youth up to the time He first preached the Gospel?” This is a popular question in the catholic church that until now is a mystery to them. The stand of the catholic church in this issue since I was in the kindergarten up to my college days was:

    “This is one of the mysteries in the bible that cannot be explained.”

    When I joined the Church of God International, Bro. Eliseo Soriano answered this question with ease. “He was just there”…Yes, Jesus was just around helping his father Joseph in his carpentry works.

    Not a mystery to Brother Eli..huh..

    Wisdom in the bible is not a mystery to the one who is chosen by God to continue the preaching and the one who holds the key…

    (This issue is not far from the catholic insistence that Peter is the key to the kingdom of God. Please refer to the comments in “Who holds the key”..

Leave a Reply

