Bible exposition / Debate / Search for truth / The Old Path / unequalled knowledge

I got Hooked on that Soulful Program

He said he can defeat Bro. Eli in a debate but he hadn’t proven true to his words

By Carmi Tongol

I was 17 years old when I first watched the program, “Ang Dating Daan” (The Old Path) that was previously aired over RJTV29. I did not have any notion what the program was, because of the atypical title. This was also the first time I saw Bro. Eli Soriano. But he caught my attention when he commented on the teachings of the different religious organizations.

At one time, I found myself attending a Bible Exposition held at the Technological University of the Philippines in Manila. During that time, I was very much excited to ask questions in the program segment, “Itanong Mo Kay Soriano” (Ask. Bro. Eli). However, the time ran out and they needed to end the show (midnight already). I felt a little sad, but then I was in high spirits after I received a free Bible from them. Then, I saw my high school pal beside me asking if I wanted to have Bro. Eli’s autograph in my Bible. I ecstatically said “Yes!” and it added to my blissful moment.

Then I started getting hooked on the program. I received invitations from members and some leaders of different religious groups who encouraged me to attend their Bible Study instead of watching the program. I said to myself, “Why not?” to see if they can answer my questions about faith and religion. On the other hand, they cannot stop me from watching that soulful program again.

One day, my uncle invited me to attend their worship service. Then, he introduced me to their pastor (or preacher) and said to him that I had been watching Soriano’s program on television. He rapidly said, “We can defeat Eli Soriano in a debate, and even not I as the contender; any worker in our Church can beat him.” I said, “Oh, can you? Why not have this on television?” They said they will but until now that pastor hadn’t proven anything of what he had said. He is not really after saving a soul.

During those times of uncertainty, I continuously prayed. I got my prayers answered because I have seen the true Church that I was looking for. April 16, 2000 was my first trip to the ADD Convention Center. I was still not baptized then. There, I attended my first Thanksgiving in Apalit, Pampanga. I sang praises and danced merrily together with the other brethren. After a week, I attended the KKTK (young people’s) acquaintance party organized for the incoming youth event of that year, the 3rd National Youth Convention. I got baptized after two weeks.

Now, I continuously thank Him for giving me every opportunity to do good works and for making me a part of His Church. To God Be the Glory!

One thought on “I got Hooked on that Soulful Program

Leave a Reply

