Bible exposition / experience leading to calling / The Old Path / Understanding / unequalled knowledge

This Trivia man, this Bro. Eli

By Noreen B. Armillo

I was in my last year in college when a friend told me to watch Channel 13 (He mentioned the day and time). I remembered he told me, “Meron dun nagsasalita, maraming alam, nagmumura nga lang…” (There’s someone speaking there; he knows many things; the problem is that he spurts out cuss words…”)

I checked if there was such a program. I saw a man talking about religion, and yes, “nagmumura sya” (he spurts out cuss words). I didn’t remember the man’s name or the program’s title. What lingered in my mind was that the man knew a lot of things about everything! That was the first and last time I saw him. At least, that was what I thought.

Months after, I chanced upon a religious program at RJTV 29. It was the same man. He was not alone this time. Thank God, I thought; it’s the same Trivia Man again!

What really attracted me to this man was his knowledge in all aspects of life – medicine, relationships, science, history, religion, you name it, he knows it. And his name is Bro Eli.

I didn’t know that Eliseo Soriano was that phenomenal but I admired him for his wisdom and knowledge – things which I was able to share with my friends and classmates. They would ask me how I knew those things I was telling them, and I would answer, watch “Ang Dating Daan.”

I didn’t find it hard to believe Bro. Eli’s teachings because I was not a Catholic fanatic; neither was I a stubborn or a narrow-minded person. The first time I heard him rebuke the Catholic faith I readily accepted what he said. Now, after being a member of the Church of God International for 11 years, I thank God for this Trivia Man, as I called him before.

Now, I call him the Only Sensible Preacher in our time.

Copyright ©2009 keytothelockedbook.wordpress.com
All Rights Reserved

Note: “Gago” and “tarantado” equally mean “fool” – words that are used in the bible to rebuke. The utterance of a cuss word is neutral. It depends on what is being referred to.

I know and am convinced in the Lord Jesus that there is nothing unclean in itself; still, it is unclean to the one who considers it unclean. (Rom 14:14)

More than that, I now regard all things as liabilities compared to the far greater value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things – indeed, I regard them as dung! – that I may gain Christ (Philippians 3:8 )

4 thoughts on “This Trivia man, this Bro. Eli

  1. Nice story! I like it! I like the man who is straight-forward, no many words or flowery words, I like the character of this Trivia Man. also know as Bro. Eli Soriano.

    Proverbs 27:5-6 (KJV)
    5 Open rebuke is better than secret love.
    6 Faithful are the wounds of a friend; but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.

  2. This maybe the reason that every time I hear the name of Brother Eliseo Soriano being spoken of, or I see him in from of me in our Thanksgiving sessions, a tear or two fell down my eyes. Actually, I can see the same reaction from some brethren beside me, sometimes out of shyness, will turn their head to the other side, and wipe their eyes. As I write this, I am crying again. What is it in this man that bring tears to our eyes? Is this just our way of repaying gratitude? I believe we can do more to help in the propagation of God’s Word!

Leave a Reply

